How to use Vanish Mode on Facebook Messenger

How to use Vanish Mode on Facebook Messenger

Have you ever sent a message to a friend that you regretted? Facebook Messenger introduced a feature that can help make your text messages disappear after they’ve been seen.

This tutorial will tell you everything you need to know about Facebook Messenger’s Vanish Mode. What is this feature about, why use it and how to turn off and on the disappearing messages on Facebook Messenger?

What is Vanish Mode on Facebook Messenger?

Vanish Mode is a privacy feature on Messenger designed to increase the safety and security of Facebook Messenger users. With Vanish Mode, you can exchange sensitive information without worrying about it being stored in a Messenger chat forever. Instead, rest assured that after you close the chat, Vanish Mode messages will be deleted and neither the sender nor the recipient will be able to access them.

The message can contain text, stickers, emojis, images, GIFs, audio or video. Unlike regular messages, if the recipient tries to take a screenshot of the Vanish Mode chat, Facebook will immediately notify you.

Remember that for Vanish Mode to work properly, you and the person you’re sending the message to must have this feature enabled. If the recipient doesn’t have access to Vanish Mode, you won’t be able to automatically delete your messages after you send them.

See also  BlackRock's European blockchain ETF shows crypto is here to stay - Flowdesk CEO

Vanish Mode Vs. secret conversation mode

One of the most common questions about vanish mode is how it differs from secret conversation mode on Facebook.

Messenger already has one Secret conversation Mode that allows you to send self-destructing messages to your contacts. While Vanish Mode is essentially the same, there are a few key differences between the two privacy features.

By using secret conversation mode, you can create end-to-end encrypted chats. Messenger does not store the chats from secret conversations on their servers; instead, they are stored on users’ devices. The sender can also set a deadline after which the messages are removed from the recipient’s chat history. Until then, the recipient can access these messages multiple times.

The messages you sent in Vanish mode also have end-to-end encryption. However, messages in Vanish Mode even disappear from users’ devices after the recipient sees them and you close the chat. That way, the copies of these messages are not stored anywhere, making them completely private. Just like the secret conversation mode, the Vanish mode only works in one-on-one chats and not in group chats.

In both modes, you will be notified when the other person tries to take a screenshot of the chat thread.

Why use Vanish Mode on Messenger?

Do you ever wake up in the morning regretting texting someone the night before? While Vanish Mode won’t make the recipient see these messages, it can save you the embarrassment of having them stored on your smartphone forever.

On a serious note, Vanish Mode can be of great help when you need to send a piece of sensitive private information (for example, something work-related) but don’t want the recipient to have a copy of it stored in the chat.

See also  How does Azure AD certificate-based authentication work?

On top of that, Vanish Mode can be a lifesaver if your phone gets lost or your Facebook account gets hacked. Vanish Mode can save your private data from falling into the wrong hands and keep this information confidential.

How to use Vanish Mode on Facebook Messenger

Now that you know how Vanish Mode works, here’s how to use it on Facebook Messenger. To access this feature, you need to update your Facebook Messenger app to the latest version. The instructions for enabling Vanish Mode are different for Android and iOS.

How to enable Vanish Mode on Android

If you’re an Android user, here’s how to turn on Vanish mode.

  1. Open the Messenger app on your smartphone.
  2. Select the Messenger chat where you want to use Vanish Mode.
  3. Select information icon to open the chat’s menu.
  1. Scroll down the menu and select Vanish Mode. That is to say Of next to it.
  1. Turn on Vanish Mode toggle On to activate it.

When you turn on Vanish Mode, your regular chat will disappear and instead you will see an empty Vanish Mode chat. Depending on your phone settings and Messenger app version, your chat may also switch to dark mode.

If this is your first time using Vanish Mode, you’ll also get a pop-up with basic information about how the feature works. All messages you send in Vanish Mode will disappear after you exit the chat or after you turn off Vanish Mode.

To turn off Vanish mode, select Turn off disappearing mode at the top of the screen.

See also  Why organizations need both EDR and NDR for complete network protection

How to enable Vanish Mode on iOS

If you’re using Messenger on your iPhone or iPad, follow the steps below to turn on Vanish Mode.

  1. Open Messenger on your device and navigate to the chat where you want to use Vanish Mode.
  2. On the chat page, swipe up from the bottom of the screen to the message Swipe up to turn on disappearing mode see you later.
  1. Release the screen to activate Vanish Mode.

To disable Vanish Mode, swipe up again and select Turn off disappearing mode to return to your normal chat.

Should You Use Vanish Mode?

It is important to protect your privacy when using social media. Vanish Mode is not a brand new feature, but one that you should definitely take advantage of when exchanging sensitive information on Facebook Messenger. You can find similar features on other messaging apps like Instagram, Telegram, WhatsApp and Snapchat.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *