5 warning signs that your Google account was hacked

5 warning signs that your Google account was hacked

Many people use their Google account for just about everything. You can log in to social media with Google credentials. It runs Android devices and is a hub for large parts of our digital lives.

Hackers can target all types of online accounts. As one of the largest providers of email accounts, Google accounts are some of the most sought after. It’s important to know what signs to look for in case your account gets hacked so you can kick the hacker out and get things back on track.

Read on for some warning signs to look for to know if your Google account has been hacked.

1. Emails with security alerts or push notifications from Google

Google sends you security alerts in the form of emails when a login attempt or new login is made to your account. You may also receive a push notification asking if your last login attempt was you or not.

RELATED: Is someone snooping around your Google or Gmail account? Do this FREE check now

It might be a message that says “New device signed in” and then list your email address. Email notifications will include a blue button that says “Check Activity” to see the IP address and device being used.

Sometimes we forget how many devices we have, or a child or relative might try to use one at home, but it’s always better to play it safe than sorry.

In any case, take the security warning seriously and change your password. You’ll have to sign in to your Google account again on your devices afterward, but it’s better than letting a hacker run wild with your account.

2. Connected applications in your Google Account that you did not authorize

Go to your Google account and click on security tab on the left. A section is marked “Third-party apps with account access.” Click or tap on it.

Over the years, we’ve given certain apps access to our Google Account. It can be a job advertisement, an online store with Google login or a number of things. Review all third-party apps with access to your account and remove any you don’t recognize.

You may not remember signing up for a particular app, but it’s also possible that a hacker connected your account to a third-party app to have constant access without triggering security alerts.

Remove third-party apps you don’t recognize, then change your Google password.

3. Sent emails you don’t remember

Once in a while you should check the sent folder in your Gmail account. Hackers sometimes gain access to accounts to use your account credentials to send emails that are not picked up by spam filters.

See also  Why web3 companies get hacked so often, according to crypto VC Grace Isford • TechCrunch

They do this to fool people in your contact list who are likely to trust your account name without thinking twice. Got something in your sent folder that you don’t remember sending or that doesn’t sound like you wrote it when you read it?

You guessed it: change your Google password to be safe.

4. Connected accounts have been hacked, but your Google account is working fine

Whether you sign into another account with Google (like a banking app, for example) or use a password manager to remember logins for you, hackers can access this information.

If you’ve recently had problems with third-party services and websites associated with your Google Account, the whole problem may have started from your Google Account.

This is tedious, but it’s worth changing your Google password and then changing each password for accounts you’ve linked to your Google account in the past. This is the only way to ensure that your other accounts are safe.

5. Your emails are automatically forwarded to another address

Gmail has a great feature that allows you to automatically forward email to other addresses. This is useful for keeping backups of important emails in your recovery account, but it can also be used against you.

To stay under the radar, hackers can add unknown email addresses so that they receive your emails constantly. To check for and turn off automatic forwarding:

  • In your Gmail account, click the gear icon at the top right of the screen.
  • Select See All settings for more options.
  • Select Forwarding and POP/IMAP tab for more options.
  • At the top of the page you will find where it says Forwarding and shows more options. Check the button that says Disable forwarding.
  • Exit and refresh your browser. Repeat the above steps to ensure the changes were implemented.
See also  FTX's apparently slow withdrawal raises eyebrows

What information should you change if your account security is breached?

According to Google, you should look for unknown changes to critical security settings. If any of these were changed without your permission or knowledge, your account is likely at risk.

  • Phone number for recovery.
  • The recovery email address associated with your current account.
  • Alternative contact methods.
  • Your Google Account name.
  • Security issues.
  • Two-step verification is turned off.
  • Added location sharing settings.

Hackers may have access to passwords that give them access to your financial and Google Play accounts. Change your passwords and reset all your account security details if you think you’ve been hacked.

Maybe you like it too: 3 reasons storing sensitive files in Google Drive is a bad idea

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *